Father Mulcahy

When I heard the other day that actor William Christopher died, I went looking for the book he gave me when I interviewed him in 1990 about his son. He was appearing in Regina at Stage West in a production of Run for Your Wife. I found the book today, and had forgotten he’d signed the playbill, which I’d tucked inside. I see now that Tibor Fehereghazi directed and Kent Allen, whom we just enjoyed as a wonderful Scrooge in last month’s run at Persephone Theatre, also starred. Thought it was ‘small world’ convergence of Tibor, whom I interviewed years later, and Kent also in that production 27 years ago.

Mr. Christopher was a very kind and gentle man – very much like his Father Mulcahy character – and because we both had sons with a disability, it was more great visit than interview. I remember him with fondness.

Leave a Reply

