China syndrome

Hey! The fall issue of Saskatoon HOME is out and it’s early! I think I say this about every issue, but this is one of my favourites. One of my pet stories is the piece about fine bone china. I learned a lot. Did you know that they call it bone china because it really does contain bone? Cow bone. What’s more, there’s some guy in Seattle who will make a lovely set of dishes for you using your loved one’s ashes. That way, you can have your family member over for dinner every night. For this story, we visited Don Penn of Penn’s Antiques, and also Roger and Chris out at Solar Gardens. Check out Roger’s vast collection, beautifully displayed in the dining room. That’s me and Roger, me trying not to break anything! Get your issue to bone up on china knowledge, and there’s plenty of other interesting stuff, too.

Leave a Reply

