My mom

We had a good chat with my mom (and dad, too) for Mother’s Day. I’ll be heading to Whitehorse for a visit so we can celebrate that, her 85th and my 57th all in one under the Midnight Sun. When I was in grade one (Sultan, Washington), Mom came in from the farm one afternoon to sit in on my class. She sat there with such perfect posture, looking beautiful, and the girl next to me leaned over and said, “Your mom looks just like Mary Poppins.” We went to see Sound of Music when it first came out not long afterwards and, sure enough, she really did look like Julie Andrews. Happy Mother’s Day, Mom. See you soon!

Burby's 002

Leave a Reply

