A little spooky

Don’t know if it’s a coincidence, maybe it’s just that time of year, but Canada Post just issued a second series of stamps called Haunted Canada. It features several of “our country’s most popular ghostly tales.” I thought one looked eerily familiar. The Caribou Hotel in Carcross, Yukon is said to be hauted by the ghosts of the Klondike Gold Rush. No wonder I recognized the hotel; I have the Ted Harrison print hanging right over my office desk. It’s where I once received a quarter in the 1960s when a tourist rounded up a bunch of kids, me included, so she could take a picture of “Indian children” by the hotel. I was with my parents on the White Pass and Yukon Railway train, and we were stopping at the hotel for moose and bannock. I don’t remember “feeling the chill” of any ghosts as Canada Post suggets, but I do feel a little creepy every time I look up from my computer now.

IMG_2169IMG_2165

Leave a Reply

