Happy Father’s Day, Dad!

I think it’s pretty safe to say my father is unique among Dads! Thanks, Dad, for passing on your love of books, animals, and the great outdoors. Math, sorry, not so much 🙂 My Dad has steadfastly refused to live a conventional life so has always been a source of amazement, pride, and entertainment for my brother and me. Early lessons about getting our chores done, and by extension whatever the job might be, set us up for a willingness to work for what we want in life. Dad taught me to balance a chequebook, save money first, where to look for the Big Dipper, and to treat all animals with the same care you would treat people. “Slugs have feeings, too.”

Here’s my Dad when he was known as “Freddie” – the bookworm in the apple of my Grandma Melberg’s eye.

Image

And here he is below, sweeping my Mom off her feet on their honeymoon – just the two of them in a riverboat plying the Athabasca River in the early 1950s. This wasn’t exactly an all-inclusive, but they were happy to find a trapper’s cabin to stay in one night. Shh, if you put your ear to your computer, you can hear mosquitoes!

Have a good day, Dad! And thanks for everything.

Your youngest kid,

Karin

Image

Leave a Reply

