An elegant evening with some wonderful women

Last night was a bit of a surreal experience for us. I had been nominated for a YWCA Women of Distinction Award in the Arts, Culture and Heritage category. We attended the gala last night at TCU Place. I know people just say it’s an honour to be nominated and they don’t expect to win – but that’s really what we all thought – so when they announced my name, the stomach did quite a lurch given that I’m a bit of a terrified public speaker and the win required a speech. I’d also met Heather and Bonnie, the other two wonderful women nominated in the category, so I really had settled into just enjoying the evening from our table.  I vaguely remember floating up to the stage and following some notes I’d written just in case. It is a huge honour, and I again want to thank Scotiabank for sponsoring the category, and Heather and Bonnie – I’m quite sure my name was simply drawn out of a hat. It was an inspiring evening and it was a privilege just to sit back and listen to the contributions these other 33 women have made to the community. Thank you so much to Dr. Barry and Yvonne Brown, Jane and Danny Vaughn, my nominators Jocelyn Richardson and Cynthia Block (who couldn’t attend), and old friends Carol Glazer and Jane for letters of support, and Dr. Ron Marken and Liv Marken for being there for the evening. And to my lovely husband Rick and stalwart son Jim. And to our dear cat Ed who barfed on the carpet this morning to really bring things back to normal.If you live in Saskatoon and know of a woman who is making a worthy contribution to the community, please nominate her for the 33rd YWCA Women of Distinction Awards.

ImageImageImageImage

One thought on “An elegant evening with some wonderful women

Leave a Reply

